2022 Stawell Memorial Prize

2019 Stawell Memorial Prize winner
RedUSe: reducing antipsychotic and benzodiazepine prescribing in residential aged care facilities
Lead Author: Juanita L Westbury


AMA Victoria is seeking expressions of interest for panel judges for the 2022 Stawell Memorial Prize.


The original Stawell Bequest was made in 1933 by Sir A E Rowden White to commemorate the work of Sir Richard Stawell, predominantly in clinical teaching. Stawell was a consulting physician at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and chairman of the house committee for many years. His work is said to have significantly improved the delivery and reputation of clinical teaching at the Hospital. The first Stawell Oration was delivered in 1934 entitled “The Teaching of Clinical Medicine”

Stawell was honorary co-editor of the Australian Medical Journal from 1894 to 1900. His deep involvement in the Victoria branch of the British Medical Association lead him to become Vice-President in 1908 and President in 1910 and as a committee member of the Medical Society of Victoria he actively worked towards amalgamation of the two organisations.

Around that same time, Stawell also succeeded in merging the two Australian medical journals, the Australian Medical Gazette (NSW) and the Australian Medical Journal (VIC), later to be adapted into the new publication the Medical Journal of Australia (MJA).

Conditions for the Prize

The Prize will be awarded annually to the author(s) of a research article published in the Research Sections of the MJA which:

The lead author of the research essay must be a graduate of an Australian university.

Judging process and commitment

Dr Richard King has been the convener of the judging panel for the Prize for many years and will continue in 2022.

AMA Victoria is planning to host an AMA Victoria Awards Night in April 2022 at which the Prize will be awarded.

The period from which the research essays will be selected from the MJA will be 1 January 2021 – 31 January 2022.

Each panel judge will be asked to make a selection (based on the conditions of the Prize) of the best four research essays.

If appropriate, an essay of a particularly specialist nature would be referred to another panel judge for comment, or to an external expert advisor. The external expert advisor might be a contact of the panel judge, or can be sourced by the Secretariat.

A moderation exercise will be conducted whereby panel judges will be paired and will decide the best four essays out of their combined eight. Depending on the number of judges on the panel, at the end of the exercise a total of eight to twelve essays would be accumulated.

We will then convene a meeting of all panel judges to discuss the short list of essays and rank them according to the conditions of the Prize. Finally, a shortlist of three essays would be recommended to the Board, in order of preference, for the Board’s endorsement.

Expressions of interest

Members are welcome to express their interest in joining the judging panel in writing to the Returning Officer by close of business on Tuesday 30 November 2021.

The Returning Officer can be contacted by:

AMA Victoria Preferred Suppliers